2021 local government elections

The next election for Ku-ring-gai Council will be held on Saturday, 4 September 2021.

Local government elections in New South Wales are usually held every four years, however the elections planned for 2020 were postponed for 12 months due to the coronavirus pandemic.

View the 2021 Local Government elections event page on the Electoral Commission's website.


Ku-ring-gai Council residents and ratepayers will be electing a total of 10 Councillors comprising of two Councillors to represent each of the five wards:

  • Comenarra
  • Gordon
  • Roseville
  • St Ives
  • Wahroonga

Not sure which ward you're in? Type in your address to find out your Ward or download the Ward street map(PDF, 1MB).

Voting eligibility

Voting in local government (Council) elections is compulsory for all electors included on the residential roll.

If you are a resident in the Ku-ring-gai Council area, you can check if your enrolment details are up to date with the Australian Electoral Commission.

If you are not a resident, you may be entitled to vote if you own, occupy or lease property in the local area. The fact sheet below provides more information on the non-residential roll.

Non residential rolls information for councils(PDF, 67KB)

Applications to be on the non-residential roll close Monday 26 July and sent to Council marked to the attention of the Manager Governance and Corporate Strategy.

  • By post: Locked Bag 1006 Gordon 2072
  • By hand: 818 Pacific Highway Gordon
  • By email: kmc@kmc.nsw.gov.au

Applications forms

Non residential roll nominee application Ku-ring-gai Council(PDF, 149KB)

Non residential roll individual application(PDF, 132KB)  

Postal voting commences on Monday, 26 July and closes at 5pm on Monday, 30 August.

Pre-poll voting opens on Monday, 23 August.

Become a Councillor

For information on how to become a Councillor please see the Office of Local Government website

Nominations for candidates open on Monday, 28 June and close 6pm on Monday, 26 July.

Enquiries about the election can be sent to kmc@kmc.nsw.gov.au