Mayor Jennifer Anderson

Roseville Ward

Cr Jennifer Anderson

Mayor Anderson grew up in Chatswood and has lived in Ku-ring-gai for 33 years. Jennifer and her husband raised their four children in a heritage listed home in Killara. She represents the Roseville Ward and resides in Lindfield.

Mayor Anderson has qualifications in library and information science with appointments to the University of NSW, University of London and Lane Cove Council. Prior to election to Ku-ring-gai Council in 2006 she worked with former Bradfield MP, The Hon Dr Brendan Nelson.

Mayor Anderson is currently in her sixth term as Mayor, having previously served as Mayor from 2011 to 2012 and two consecutive terms from 2013 to 2015. She has served consecutive terms as mayor 2016-2017, 2017-2019 and 2019-2021 and is the longest serving mayor in Ku-ring-gai’s 104 year history. She is Council's representative to the Northern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (NSROC), Chairperson of Heritage Reference Committee, Chairperson of Marian Street Theatre Reference Committee, and is Patron of the Hornsby/Ku-ring-gai Women’s Shelter and many other local organisations.

Mayor Anderson has also previously served as Chair of Council's Community Reference Committee, the Economic and Social Development Advisory Committee and on Council's Audit and Risk Committee.

Mayor Anderson formerly also served for several years on the board of the Ku-ring-gai Youth Development Service (KYDS), with strong experience in youth and education policy through previous elected roles on the State Executive of the NSW Parents' Council and the State Council of the NSW Federation of P&C Associations. Jennifer is a past Executive member of the Art Deco Society of NSW.

In 2014 Mayor Anderson was announced as the Davidson NSW Woman of the Year winner and was also named as a Rotary International Paul Harris Fellow. In 2015 Mayor Anderson was awarded the honorary title of Emeritus Mayor by the Local Government Association of NSW. In 2017 Mayor Anderson was presented with the Ministers’ Award for Women in Local Government.