Council wards

 Ward map  

Not sure which ward you're in? Type in your address to find out your Ward or download the Ward street map(PDF, 1MB).

Ku-ring-gai covers the area from Roseville cinema in the south to Wahroonga Park in the north and from St Ives Showground in the east to Lane Cove National Park in the west.

This area is broken up into five wards, each represented by two Councillors.


Councillor Jeff Pettett

Councillor Greg Taylor

Suburbs: South Turramurra, West Pymble, parts of Warrawee, Turramurra and Pymble


Councillor Barbara Ward

Councillor Simon Lennon

Suburbs: Gordon, Killara, East Killara.


Councillor Sam Ngai

Councillor Alec Taylor

Suburbs: Roseville, Roseville Chase, Lindfield, East Lindfield.

St Ives

Councillor Martin Smith

Councillor Christine Kay

Suburbs: St Ives, St Ives Chase, parts of Pymble.


Councillor Kim Wheatley

Councillor Cedric Spencer

Suburbs: Wahroonga, North Wahroonga, North Turramurra, parts of Warrawee and Turramurra.

Role of Councillors

The Mayor and Councillors are Ku-ring-gai’s popularly elected officials, representing local residents.

Councillors are responsible for:

  • Making decisions that guide Council activities.
  • Providing local leadership.
  • Representing the community’s interests by listening to and addressing their concerns.
  • Attending Council meetings and other official functions.
  • Building links between Council and the community.

In addition to their duties as a Councillor, the Mayor is required to chair Council meetings and attend civic and ceremonial events such as citizenship ceremonies.

Councillors are not paid a salary, but they receive an allowance for attending meetings and are reimbursed for some of their out of pocket expenses. The Mayor receives an additional mayoral allowance. Amounts are set by the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal.