Role of Councillors


L to R: Mayor Sam Ngai, Cr Simon Lennon, Cr Kim Wheatley, Cr Barbara Ward (seated), Cr Alec Taylor, Cr Greg Taylor, Cr Jeff Pettett (seated), Cr Martin Smith, Deputy Mayor Christine Kay, Cr Cedric Spencer

The Mayor and Councillors are Ku-ring-gai’s popularly elected officials, representing local residents.

Councillors are responsible for:

  • Making decisions that guide Council activities.
  • Providing local leadership.
  • Representing the community’s interests by listening to and addressing their concerns.
  • Attending Council meetings and other official functions.
  • Building links between Council and the community.

In addition to their duties as a Councillor, the Mayor is required to chair Council meetings and attend civic and ceremonial events such as citizenship ceremonies.

Councillors are not paid a salary, but they receive an allowance for attending meetings and are reimbursed for some of their out of pocket expenses. The Mayor receives an additional mayoral allowance. Amounts are set by the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal.

Find out more about our Mayor and Councillors